When experimenting with your site, you may want to try different demos. If you’ve already imported a demo and would like to try a different one, you have to use the methods mentioned below to remove all the content from the previous demo before importing a new one. Aside from this, you can also use the methods shown below to remove duplicate demo content.
- Removing Demo Content To Import A New One – You can use the methods described below to remove old demo content to make room for a new one. If you don’t remove the old demo content and import a new one, you’ll see elements and settings from the old demo which could break the layout and the design of the new demo.
- Removing Duplicate Demo Content – Sometimes, importing a demo can take a few minutes. Duplicate demo content occurs when the ‘Import’ button is clicked multiple times. For example, if you click ‘Import’ twice, there’s a possibility that all the demo content will be imported twice.
Method 1: WP Reset Plugin
Using WP Reset Plugin will REMOVE all of your database content. It does not remove a theme or plugin folder, but all content such as posts, pages, media, etc. will be lost. USE WITH CAUTION!
This plugin is the fastest way to get rid of content. However, it will remove all content from your database and leave the default theme activated. It does not remove plugins, but will deactivate them. This plugin will remove all pages, posts, menus, sliders, widget data, theme options, etc. Only do this if you are able to start over.
Method 2: Manual Removal
This method will take longer and requires more work. This method simply involves manually removing the demo content items. For example, you would need to go to your “Pages” section and select all pages and delete them. Repeat this process for all areas that contain data. You can use this method if you’ve already created pages and posts and don’t want to reset your site.